IAS: Fire Prevention and Life Safety

Fire Prevention and Life Safety

View accredited Fire Prevention and Life Safety Departments.

Click for application information, fees, rules of procedure and other important documents.

Accreditation by IAS conveys formal recognition that governmental fire prevention and life safety departments have demonstrated the technical and administrative competence to implement an effective and equitable system of code enforcement. Accredited organizations comply with the IAS Accreditation Criteria for Fire Prevention and Life Safety Departments (AC426), which covers such services as code administration, plan review, and inspection.

IAS has established a partnership with the Center for Public Safety Excellence (CPSE), which helped to develop AC426. The IAS relationship with CPSE brings greater credibility and strength to the IAS accreditation program.

Currently, IAS is accepting applications for accreditation and will work with applicants as the criteria evolve or further changes are proposed. The approved AC426 criteria is currently available to all interested parties.




ILAC MRA Signatory Testing, Calibration, Inspection

IAF MLA Signatory Product Certification and Management System Certification (QMS and EMS)
PAC MLA Signatory Person Certification

Building Department Accreditation | Building Department Service Providers | Calibration Laboratories | Curriculum Development
Fabricator Inspection | Field Evaluation Bodies | Fire Prevention and Life Safety Departments | Inspection Agencies
Management System Certification Bodies | Metal Building Inspection | Personnel Certification Bodies
Product Certification Agencies | Special Inspection Agencies | Testing Laboratories | Training Agencies

Our parent company, the International Code Council
Privacy Policy | Website User Agreement | Careers
© 2017 International Accreditation Service