Inspection Agencies

Click for application information, fees, rules, and other important documents.

The IAS inspection agency program is based on international standard ISO/IEC 17020. Accreditation by IAS indicates that inspection agencies meet the highest quality standards.

The inspection agency accreditation program begins with a review of the agency's quality systems manual. Then, an on-site assessment is conducted at the agency's office. Here, IAS assessors review records and the agency's quality system and interview members of the agency's staff. In addition, a technical field assessment is also conducted, by one or more technical assessors, to evaluate the agency's technical competence. Continual evaluation of the agency's quality system is done through periodic surveillance assessments, and through follow-up visits that keep the accreditation in good standing.

General Requirements for Inspection Agencies under the ISO/IEC 17020 International Standard


ILAC MRA Signatory Testing, Calibration, Inspection

IAF MLA Signatory Product Certification and Management System Certification (QMS and EMS)
PAC MLA Signatory Person Certification

Building Department Accreditation | Building Department Service Providers | Calibration Laboratories | Curriculum Development
Fabricator Inspection | Field Evaluation Bodies | Fire Prevention and Life Safety Departments | Inspection Agencies
Management System Certification Bodies | Metal Building Inspection | Personnel Certification Bodies
Product Certification Agencies | Special Inspection Agencies | Testing Laboratories | Training Agencies

Our parent company, the International Code Council
Privacy Policy | Website User Agreement | Careers
© 2017 International Accreditation Service